Review: The Maze Runner

Posted: 02/12/2014 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Maze Runner
The Maze Runner by James Dashner
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I don’t know what it was about it but something about it just didn’t draw me in. Maybe it was too many unanswered questions thrown at you in the beginning. Maybe it was the author’s writing style. Maybe it was lack of or overuse of detail. Maybe it was all of those. Maybe it was none of those. Maybe it was something else. But it didn’t draw me in and I remained fairly ambivalent about the book while I finished it. It was decent. It was readable. I wasn’t trying to gouge my eyes out. Or pull my hair out. Or forcing myself into finishing it. But it just didn’t excite me. I’m still debating if I want to read the rest of the books as they’ll be quick reads. But on the whole, I’m largely unimpressed.

It might also be because EVERYONE has been talking and raving about this book series and I might be a little burned out on it. Luckily though, I wound up reading it before people started spoiling it for me because they have this inability around me to not talk about movies they’ve seen when they know it has a book attached that I want to read.

This is also one of my brother’s favourite books but he’s also excessively picky about the books he reads.

Comments
  1. […] warnings for the series: heterosexual romance, violence The Kill Order The Fever Code  The Maze Runner Content warnings: violence, insinuations of homophobia, death The Scorch Trials Thomas’ […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

