Review: This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don’t Touch It

Posted: 02/12/2014 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don't Touch It
This Book Is Full of Spiders: Seriously, Dude, Don’t Touch It by David Wong
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

It took me about 100 ish pages to actually really start getting into this. I had the same problem with [b:John Dies at the End|6364718|John Dies at the End (John Dies at the End, #1)|David Wong|https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1408469864s/6364718.jpg|1858059]. Something about David Wong’s writing just really makes me kind of go “meh” for the first 100 pages.

Once I actually got into it though, it took no time at all to finish (in my mind. In reality time it took longer than I should have been awake…no regrets). I stopped being tired and just didn’t want to take my eyes off the pages and stop reading.

I started tearing up near the end when Molly was the one to sacrifice herself because I felt more attached to the dog than the rest of the characters. I adored the chapter that she had and laughed at her name for David. Because “Meatbreath” is a hilarious name and so precious. And something I think a dog would name a human.

I feel sorry for the little girl and her dad but love her with her teddy bear. I have a hard time feeling much of anything for John, David, and Amy. They were kind of bland ish characters for me and honestly that might be why this and the prior book were hard for me to really start getting into. Though of the trio John is more the one I have any feelings towards and it’s of the “hey that’s the stupid kind of shit I’d be known for doing” kind of feelings. Though there’d be a lot more screaming on my part.

All in all, a decent book. If you enjoyed the previous book you’ll most likely enjoy this book. Though I really enjoy the title of the book and the things that could possibly mean over what it actually means. I would like an eventual sequel in which John, David, and Amy confront ‘Them’ but I don’t expect it to ever happen.

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

