Review: Horns

Posted: 03/12/2014 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Horns
Horns by Joe Hill

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a fantastic book.

I have to say I was initially really hesitant and wary about reading this once I found out his dad was Stephen King. For those of you who don’t know, something about Stephen King’s writing makes me want to gouge my eyes out and burn the books. I find his writing to be atrocious and can only stand it by listening to audiobooks of his works. I am very happy to find out that Hill’s writing is NOTHING like his dad’s. I don’t find it atrocious nor do I want to burn the book or gouge my eyes out. That was something I was seriously worried about.

From the start the book hooked me. Which is always a great thing when that happens. This was the first ever book by Hill that I read so I was surprised that it started with him waking up with the horns already there.

I absolutely LOVED the reference to the song Devil With A Blue Dress on from Mitch Ryder and the Detroit Wheels that he put in in the last 30% ish of the book

I like a lot of what he says about religion and god in particular because it all felt wrong anyway when it was being shoved down my throat growing up and from an ex and have said a few things that were in the similar vein.

This is definitely a book that I would recommend to people regardless of how religious they are/aren’t because his writing kind of pulls you into the setting. Also in him writing areas he seems to know straight down to wildlife it helped a lot for immersion for me (especially when it comes to reptiles and snakes in particular because of how interested I am in snakes and it bothers me when people put snakes in the wrong region that aren’t in captivity).

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

