Review: The Girls from the Revolutionary Cantina: A Novel

Posted: 01/01/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Girls from the Revolutionary Cantina: A Novel
The Girls from the Revolutionary Cantina: A Novel by M. Padilla

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book was about as good as I was expecting. It wasn’t great but it wasn’t terrible. It was good.

The thing that really bothered me was what seemed like at first unnecessary girl on girl hate. Then upon reading further the hate turning out to be because one of the girls is a lesbian and doesn’t know how to handle her feelings towards another girl she’s attracted to without it turning into hate made me really uneasy. Uneasy because I know the feeling and still sometimes deal with it but mostly don’t. But also the fact that it was written by a white guy really makes me kind of pissed off and uncomfortable.

I don’t like the fact that Mike Padilla’s author biography says that this is a comic book. Because, while yes there were a few comic type moments, it didn’t feel like a comic book(comic in this meaning as humourous). While I want to like this book more, had I known from the get go that this was by a white male, I probably would have never checked it out from the library.

Overall, the book kind of leaves me with a feeling of unease and the girl on girl hate leaves a really bad taste in my mouth. Mostly because I DESPISE that trope.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

