Review: The Queen of Attolia

Posted: 03/01/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Queen of Attolia
The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

One thing I hate in books, be they children’s/YA/erotica/fiction/etc is romance for romance sake (which is also why I’m very selective in “romance” books I read). Conversely, something I do like is romance that is believable. And for being a children’s/juvenile book(going by what my library has it classified under), this book does the latter very well.

At first I REALLY wasn’t happy with the beginning few chapters of the book (after I got over initial confusion). But as the book progressed, I got less pissed off with the events that initially happened and more intrigued as to everything going on.

As far as representation goes for disabilities in literature this was actually handled very decently. Especially with having to re-learn how to do things and the difficulties that can lie in that. I like how it showed how different people react to people who were once able bodied to how they react when someone isn’t as able bodied and how the thought process can go for the person who does wind up not being able bodied. It was very nice to read that in a book aimed somewhere between children and YA. I’m excited to read the next 2 books in the series.

The romance was explained very well. It wasn’t an instantaneous “I just saw you and BAM!” kind of thing. It bordered a little bit on creepy stalker but overall it wasn’t as creepy stalker bad as other books I’ve read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] for the series: heterosexual romance, thievery The Thief Content warnings: violence, thievery The Queen of Attolia Content warnings: violence, thievery, loss of appendage, showing of people with disabilities, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

