Review: Beyond the Highland Mist

Posted: 13/02/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , , ,

Beyond the Highland Mist
Beyond the Highland Mist by Karen Marie Moning

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So, upon first thought while I was still in progress of reading this, this image sums up my initial feelings for it:

And while I do still feel a lot of that (also I took that from someone else’s review so my apologies but it was kinda perfect) I was able to overlook a lot of it for some reason that my brain has yet to reveal to me (because my brain’s kind of a jackass). And I actually found myself enjoying it DESPITE all of that.

This was also my first book I picked up from this author. I actually picked up all but two books in this series from the library for like 10 cents each.

Despite inaccuracies (which others have pointed out better than I’ll ever do) the history part didn’t bother me as much. I mean it did but not as badly as some “historical” books have. My brain wasn’t going into a complete rage downspiral for it.

But it’s your typical romance story. With fairies. And set in the year that the king dies (though that’s not discussed in the book that’s just my own historical knowledge speaking).

I enjoyed it a lot more once I turned my brain off enough to actually let myself get a little lost in it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] warnings for the series: misogyny, rape culture, dubious consent, heterosexual romance Beyond the Highland Mist Content warnings: rape culture, misogyny, abuse, dubious consent, kidnapping To Tame A Highland […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

