Review: Babe in Boyland

Posted: 20/03/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Babe in Boyland
Babe in Boyland by Jody Gehrman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

As a person who really enjoys the movie She’s The Man, I enjoyed this for what it was. Very reminiscent of Twelfth Night.

Only instead of it being a brother sister pairing pulling off deceptions it’s a girl on her own portraying herself and her “cousin”.

Nice piece of YA fluff that I basically breezed through (in between hockey and dinner and bar distractions) and really don’t have a lot of strong feelings toward other than there’s quite a bit of wisdom (more near the end when she discovers things about herself and how she acts as opposed to how she thinks she’s expected to act that can further be extrapolated into societal expectations of how boys/men vs girls/women should/do act) in it that more young people would do well to learn and apply in their own lives and us older people need to stop trying to force them to be a way they actually aren’t.

Spanish speaking characters felt more authentic to how some of the kids I grew up with were but at the same time almost felt a little clichéd but I can’t give too much of an opinion on them due to differences in the fact that I’m 1000% from white America and haven’t grown up in any cultural expectations that some of my Spanish speaking friends have.

This is a book that younger me would have loved and devoured.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

