Review: Alanna: The First Adventure

Posted: 22/03/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Alanna: The First Adventure
Alanna: The First Adventure by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I’d like to say first off, that I’m mentally kicking myself for not reading this sooner when it was first recommended to me and putting it off repeatedly.

Tamora Pierce, and specifically THIS series, has been recommended multiple times to me.

And I REALLY freaking enjoyed it.

Also, this review contains spoilers for the book.

Some of it, does admittedly seem a little TOO contrived. But overall, I was sucked into the fantasy setting and really enjoyed seeing a girl prove herself as a boy. I don’t like that she had to go that far. But I like that the main character is a girl and that the characters don’t quite seem 1 dimensional like a lot of YA fantasy (admittedly I also read a LOT of really bad YA books which is partly why I’m surprised about this and happy about it).

I both like and dislike how the bullying was handled. I’ve never been a fan of fighting. I understand that sometimes you have to and sometimes it’s a life or death scenario that makes you have to. But that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

The ending I’m kind of “meh” about.

You have what’s his face going “oh yeah make sure you don’t go to the black city” with the undertone of “please oh please go there and don’t come back” and then they do because it was said as an underlying challenge and some of us (myself included) are stupid enough to take that kind of challenge (“oh you say I can’t do it, well let me prove you a thing”). And then you have the demons of the Bahzir who are easily defeated by two teenagers and it was kind of anti-climatic. Like it should have been more but almost felt like the author went “oh I don’t want this to be over x number of pages and I’m getting close I need to wrap this up!” (disclaimer: I’m not the author nor in the author’s head so this is just my perception of how it felt to me)

All in all though, I’m eager to read the rest of the series.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] of the Lioness quartet Content warnings: violence, heterosexual romance Alanna: The First Adventure Content warnings: violence, bullying, attempt to intentionally cause harm/death In The Hand of the […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

