Review: In the Hand of the Goddess

Posted: 22/03/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

In the Hand of the Goddess
In the Hand of the Goddess by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Like the last book I liked it but had some problems with it.

So let’s just dive in (spoilers ahead):

I get the whole hormones thing and her being conflicted about her feelings regarding Jon and the king of thieves. I DON’T like the love triangle that seems to be forming with them.

I also DON’T like the use of another female to try and break up friendships and/or seduce Jon. Mostly because to me, it screams plot device. And I don’t like things thrown in for plot device reasons. I mean it worked out well for the bigger picture but when I’m reading it initially I don’t like it.

I was wondering about the chamber that the knights have to go through for their ordeal. And have some theories into it. Since the chamber has it’s magic to I guess protect those in it from exterior forces (and for them to basically face their fears) I think that’s how Alanna was able to see through the veil that whatshisface cast over her and the others so they wouldn’t see his plotting. Which is why she had to go through the barrier to see the picture of him winding up as ruler and everyone else dead.

But before the chamber of ordeals was put in this book I was wondering why the boys were grey faced and stuff. A LOT more understandable if they all have to face their fears. I imagine most people would be grey in the face if they had to do so. I REALLY liked the idea of the chamber though as an ordeal you have to go through to be a knight.

I don’t like how she was forced to reveal herself to everyone as female.

I don’t like the boys basically kind of forcing her to kiss them.

I didn’t like the king of thieves dude for slipping something into her drink before her ordeal so she could sleep. I know he did it for her benefit so she didn’t make herself sick with worry but I still don’t like that it happened.

I would have liked more of an explanation of what happened when she and Jon came back from the Black City. I was really hoping for that. And I’m both sad and angry that I didn’t get one.

Overall, I did like the story. So onto the next book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] First Adventure Content warnings: violence, bullying, attempt to intentionally cause harm/death In The Hand of the Goddess Content warnings: violence, love triangles, girl on girl hate, drugs, facing fears The Woman Who […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

