Review: The Woman Who Rides Like a Man

Posted: 23/03/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

The Woman Who Rides Like a Man
The Woman Who Rides Like a Man by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I think of all of them I kind of liked this book the most. Which apparently isn’t the opinion a lot of people share. But as my opinions belong to me I’m perfectly justified in them on this.

I like that she’s learned to accept her magic. Because I could very well see her being consumed by it if she didn’t accept it.

The little bit about her brother I don’t like. I also am wary about the dream she keeps having. It almost reads to me as a prophetic dream and makes me uneasy to think about.

I think her brother should have given her notice prior to using up her magic because it’s rude and inconsiderate not to ask before doing so.

I’m not happy about anything with Jon and Alanna right now (but I’m also not 100% of agreement for her going for him or George. I like them both as her friends that she occasionally sleeps with and nothing more). I also don’t think either of them were in the right. Him for assuming things of her and her for pushing him to say things that maybe may not have been true and then him basically throwing himself at the first girl he gets when he gets back as a rebound to try and forget Alanna (but I also don’t like anyone of any gender who does that as it’s not fair to the person they get involved with).

I like that she asserts herself as her own person. And wants nothing more than to be seen as such.

Onto the last book now I guess.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] of the Goddess Content warnings: violence, love triangles, girl on girl hate, drugs, facing fears The Woman Who Rides Like A Man Content warnings: violence Lioness Rampant Content warnings: violence, slut shaming, The […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

