Review: Written in Red

Posted: 26/03/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Written in Red
Written in Red by Anne Bishop

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I FORGOT A HUGE CONTENT WARNING SO I’M ADDING THIS AFTER THE FACT (and feel terrible for forgetting it): IF YOU HAVE OR HAVE HAD IN THE PAST ANY ISSUES WITH SUICIDE, SELF HARM, OR CUTTING SPECIFICALLY DON’T READ THIS BOOK. IF YOU HAVE A SQUICK FACTOR* AGAINST THE THOUGHT OF CUTTING, SUICIDE, SELF HARM, OR BLOOD WHEN IT COMES TO READING (OR LISTENING) DO NOT READ THIS BOOK. IT IS A PLOT POINT IN THE BOOK ABOUT CUTTING AND SELF HARM AND BLOOD AND YOU ACTIVELY CAN NOT IGNORE IT WITHOUT JUST SKIPPING COMPLETELY THE PARTS ABOUT IT.

So I have a lot of thoughts about this book.

The first is that I enjoyed it.

The second is that the main character was kind of mary sue-ish.

The third is that this story pulled me in.

This is the first book I’ve ever read of the author’s. I ABSOLUTELY HATED Asia Crane. She is the embodiment of people I don’t like. The I’m going to pretend to be interested in you (or in sleeping with you) just so I can get x information out of you and then leave you after stringing you along type of person. And that might be because I’ve met too many people like that of all genders. And have been used by a few of them. So automatically, even if the character is doing it for “good” I hate characters that do it.

I mean I realise she has a job to do and that kind of falls in under what her job is. But that doesn’t mean I have to like her for it.

I cracked up over the main character befriending the wolves with dog beds and dog treats. Because I imagine if I ever met a wolf/paranormal wolf like creature I’d probably do the same exact thing (and that’s something that I’ve thought since my first paranormal type book I read as a child).

I enjoyed reading about the secondary characters more than the main character. I mean I cared but not too much over her. The elementals and their horses fascinate me. I’d be ok with books just about each of them because of my fascination with elements personified. It could make for a very interesting series.

Overall I enjoyed the fantasy type ideal settings and will be reading the rest of the series.

*squick factor meaning it grosses you out or has some other adverse reaction when you read/see/hear about it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] cutting, mentions of death by cutting, mentions of death from cutting, heterosexual romance Written in Red Content warnings: blood, cutting, mentions of death by cutting, mentions of death from cutting, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

