Review: Eighth Grade Bites

Posted: 13/04/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Eighth Grade Bites
Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

This book reminds me of a book I’ve read before but for the life of me can’t figure out.

And I know I’ve never read this series before so that’s not it. But I know I’ve read a book in which there is some kind of mystery because someone has disappeared and mysterious new person moves in and winds up being main character’s relation.

Anyway though.

This was a very quick read. It was also a very easy read. Easy on multiple levels (comprehension, font size, thinking about it later on….). It was something I needed because I have a few books coming up after this series that are probably going to give me headaches and stuff when I eventually read them.

But some of this book feels like the author was trying to be clever (which is entirely possible) but clever like I was clever in middle school (which wasn’t very). Naming the main character Vladimir (Vlad Tepes), Bathory school, Edgar Poe, Lugosi Trail, etc.

There’s some serious plot holes (like how did it take an entire year for this book to go down? are they just that cliché in the bad guys following the good guy thing?)

Overall it was decently enjoyable. I can remember being really awkward in 8th grade so my memory of me at that age connects with the characters but adult me giggles over them.

As someone who enjoys vampire books and movies this hit a lot of clichés but it wasn’t altogether terrible. Then again it wasn’t good either. Just kind of meh and decently enjoyable. It’s what I consider to be a turn your brain off and enjoy reading type of book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] Brewer) Content warnings for the series: mentions of blood, vampirism, heterosexual romance Eighth Grade Bites Content warnings: mentions of blood, vampirism Ninth Grade Slays Content warnings: mentions of […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

