Review: The Amityville Horror

Posted: 23/04/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Amityville Horror
The Amityville Horror by Jay Anson

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

True story my ass.

While the family may have lived there, I really doubt a lot of this actually happened. The original story of the Defeo family, yes. Psychic/demonic possession? No.

But then I’ve always been highly skeptical of things like this and most of them make me laugh. This book definitely made me giggle and outright laugh quite a few times. Most of it in my head but it was still there.

Good horror story to scare the easily scared by (because who wouldn’t be scared by the thought of a house that’s possessed?) and entertaining to those of us that aren’t easily scared.

Though truthfully, I read better horror stories as a child. Ones that actually gave me minor coulrophobia up until I was 27.

There’s too much about this that makes it feel like it’s trying to make you believe it’s real. Rather than engrossing you into it to make you feel like it’s real regardless of whether it is or not. And for that I didn’t like it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

