Review: Orange Is the New Black

Posted: 24/04/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Orange Is the New Black
Orange Is the New Black by Piper Kerman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

So at first I wasn’t sure if this was a book about someone who had voluntarily gone to a women’s prison as like an investigative reporter or something or someone who had actually committed a crime and gone (to be fair I’m also not much for reading blurbs of books either because some of them are either horribly inaccurate or give too much away). I knew this was kind of what the show was based off of. But that was the extent of my knowledge. Because I haven’t watched the show yet.

Anyway though, it was actually a pretty good book. I enjoyed it more than I thought I would. It was a faster read than I thought it would be as well. Which was very surprising. When I started it last night I expected to read a chapter. When I finally made myself put it down because my eyes were starting to hurt I was at chapter 7.

I had a few issues with how some of the women were described, especially the transgender woman who was described. There was some major transphobia going on with the other inmates and their treatment of her. There’s definitely some serious issues.

Overall though this was an excellent book and I’d highly recommend it to everyone (it’s not getting a higher star rating because of the issues I mentioned).

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

