Review: The Girl in the Clockwork Collar

Posted: 09/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Girl in the Clockwork Collar
The Girl in the Clockwork Collar by Kady Cross

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of rape, violence, death

This book was definitely a thing. Really the only reason I’m continuing to read this series is because Emily interests me a lot. She’s smart and pretty and prefers to spend her time talking to and working with machines. She’s very interesting to me. Finely’s mildly interesting to me but the idea of her being in a “love triangle” completely turns me off. Personally I think it’s all a bunch of lust and infatuation. And IT BORES ME.

Seriously authors, STOP WITH THE LOVE TRIANGLES. Especially when you do more telling than showing. The most this book and the prior have shown me is lust, infatuation, and deep friendship. None of which any amount of a relationship make.

Mei. Where do I start with her? Her oriental “otherness” was very emphasised in describing her (and really can we stop describing non white characters with othering type of descriptions?). Also can we stop calling different styles of Chinese martial arts kung fu? OH MY GOSH AND THE GIRL ON GIRL HATE FOR NO REASON OTHER THAN POSSIBLE COMPETITION IN A MALES AFFECTIONS? And stop making non white people the obvious villains. I spotted that a mile away. And it made me angry.

I like that a few people’s motivations were different than expected. Ok one person’s but the point remains. It was a nice thing to see (as opposed to a blatantly easy to spot plot a mile away that the rest of book is) but it was a nice change to see.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] mention The Girl in the Steel Corset Content warnings: violence, love triangles, death mention The Girl in the Clockwork Collar Content warnings: mentions of rape, violence, death The Dark Discovery of Jack Dandy The Girl with […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

