Review: The Raven Boys

Posted: 10/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Raven Boys
The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: abuse, childhood abuse, potentially domestic violence (that’s more implied than shown), death

This was……different than I expected. I can definitely see the criticisms levelled at Blue (I’m really not that interested in her as a character). It took me 200 pages to really get into this book though. And for me to start finding it interesting as opposed to kind of bland and boring.

I REALLY want to know what happened to Ronan’s dad and how he knows. That’s about…..the only thing of interest to me throughout the books.

Blue is boring to me as a character.

And Gansey. Ugh. Reading about rich boys doesn’t appeal to any of my interests. Especially rich boys acting like your stereotypical rich person who can buy his way out of everything seemingly. All I wanted to do every time he showed up was bang my head into a wall repeatedly. And hope he finally fucking died. He didn’t. I was disappointed.

Adam was semi interesting to me. And finding out about Noah threw me a little bit. But it was really interesting to read.

Overall the book was kind of “meh” to me. It wasn’t necessarily good and it wasn’t necessarily bad. It was somewhere in the area of semi interesting and ok but not particularly memorable.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Comments
  1. […] Raven Cycle(Maggie Stiefvater) Content warnings for the series: heterosexual romance The Raven Boys Content warnings: abuse, childhood abuse, potentially domestic violence (that’s more implied […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

