Review: Everything I Never Told You

Posted: 13/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Everything I Never Told You
Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: death, violence, infidelity, alcohol use, cigarette smoking, racism (both overt and subtle)

I enjoyed this book far more than I thought I would. It was glorious. I always enjoy being pleasantly surprised by a book.

This book follows the story of a Chinese-American family in the 70s and the mystery of the death of their middle child. It shows the experiences of the family, challenges of immigration before the 70s, how both overt and subtle racism affects individuals, and how parents can inadvertently (or overtly) push their own agendas onto their children. It also shows the difficulties of being a mixed heritage child and what it’s like to be pushed to perfection and what it’s like to be ignored over the other siblings.

There’s not a whole lot I can really say about this book without spoiling the entire book. But it was a bit of an emotional roller coaster as I can identify with some of the struggles of the children (feeling invisible, feeling like they have to be a perfectionist, people pushing their agendas onto you and trying to make you into what they think you should be without consulting you about what you want to be, etc).

It’s a book I very much want to recommend to everyone (especially people who want more diverse books like I do).

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

