Review: Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances

Posted: 14/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances
Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances by Neil Gaiman

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I need to start this out by saying that I’m very much a fan of Neil Gaiman.

Some of these were downright disturbing. But on the whole I liked most of them. I’m a huge fan of short story collections by authors whether they merge well with each other or not. It’s like a sampling of an author’s work that I can point to and go “look this will give you a sampling of this author I like”.

The only one I’m going to talk about though is Feminine Endings because that one just disturbed me the most.In a lot of not good ways. The rest of them that disturbed me did so in good ways. Ways that I know I’m going to be thinking about positively for days to come. But Feminine Endings is the one that brought me down from 4 stars to 3.

Black Dog especially gives me good disturbing feelings. Particularly feelings of those of American Gods with Shadow. Because that book was feelings central for me. And I really enjoyed it. And wanted more of Shadow.

But let me now talk about Feminine Endings. With a few warnings: IF YOU HAVE NOT READ THIS DO NOT READ FURTHER IF YOU DON’T WANT A SHORT STORY COMPLETELY SPOILED. If you are triggered by stalking behaviour DO NOT READ THIS STORY OR FURTHER. Spoilers ahoy!

So, this may or may not be the case but by the end of this story I got the very distinct vibe that it was written from the point of an obsessed stalker. Which gives me many uncomfortable feelings. Because shit like this happens in real life. And usually people tend to die or get hurt in some way because of them. And the story isn’t necessarily presented as good or bad. It’s kind of presented neutral but slightly good since it’s written first person from obsessed stalker.

I started out the story going oh hey a kind of cute romantic ish letter. That’s interesting. And then as it progressed I started getting really creeped out. As someone with the background I have (of not having a stalker but having an abusive emotionally/mentally ex that I wouldn’t put this past) it made me excessively uncomfortable and on edge.

I mean the end of the story basically says “when you’re done reading this, look REALLY closely around your room and you’ll see me especially if I move”. And all this has done is make me more wary around performance arts people (my initial wariness is that the ones I’ve met seem to not have understandings of personal space and not taking it personal that I need my own personal space and people not to invade it). Especially ones that do statues or robots. And I have enough things that I’m overly anxious about that I don’t need this on top of it but now it’s there and I most likely won’t be able to get rid of it no matter how hard I try.

And it was a little TOO well written. I seriously worry about actors/writers who can get THAT well into a specific character types head, particularly scary types of characters, because of the potential there that they have. I appreciate the getting into the character’s head and making it really believable but it still gives me a bad feeling of unease about them. Particularly when it’s white men doing it. And some of it goes into my own past traumas and my own mental illnesses. That’s all I’m really going to say.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes and Noble

View all my reviews

Tell me stuff

