Review: Gangsta

Posted: 16/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Gangsta
Gangsta by K’wan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Death, blood, violence, murder

This was definitely interesting and I can definitely say, as this is said to be his first book, he’s grown a LOT as an author.

I love that he wrote Satin how he did. And made it a point to make her say more than once at least in her mind that it was her body and her choice who she shared it with when her brother tried being an asshole and telling her that because who she loved was of a different gang she couldn’t be with him. That kind of shit is fucked up. I like that he wrote what I understand to be the inception of gangs (not for violence but to help give back to their communities and protect them when the police and government wouldn’t –I could be wrong but that’s what I’ve read that started the inception of them). Especially since there’s such a negative light around gangs. That all they do is just kill people for no reason and are “thugs”. I like stories of people giving back to their communities (regardless of what colour/nationality/race/etc they are) because we should be giving back to our communities.

I really wish I could say that I’ve never met a woman like Martina but I’ve met waaayyyy too many of them. And they disgust me (I also get disgusted by the men who purposefully get their women pregnant regardless of if the woman wants to get pregnant or not).

Cisco turned out to be the slimy snake I thought he was.

I also love that the main characters were more than just “gangster” “hard working woman” etc. They had personality. And actual interests and career goals. I don’t care much for one dimensional characters but K’wan always manages to give me multi dimensional characters whether he’s writing them as male or female.

Overall good book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] was a nice follow up to Gangsta. I like that in the end justice was served. And I still want to know what the hell is Cross? Other […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

