Review: Emperor Mage

Posted: 19/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Emperor Mage
Emperor Mage by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: slavery, death, violence

I REALLY enjoyed this book for many reasons.

One of them being that I enjoyed jumping back into the world.

Another being that I enjoyed reading a female character point of view that actually was a well developed character (even if she does tend to be Deus Ex Machina at times) and that wasn’t a manic pixie dream girl (I can’t properly express my contempt for them).

Another being I just really like fantasy and it was a nice thing to jump back into after what I’ve been reading lately.

And the final being I REALLY want to finish this quartet and go on to read some of the other books in this universe because it’s wonderful to read.

I don’t particularly enjoy gods/goddesses interferring in mortal lives and making the mortals go deus ex machina but since I can’t write better or suggest better things to happen I’m kind of stuck on that one. I do enjoy animals that are typically seen as not smart being shown as as smart as they actually are. And the description of fear. I could almost smell it.

All in all it was a great story and I’m excited to read the last book of this quartet.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] Wild Magic Content warnings: violence, magic Wolf-Speaker Content warnings: violence, magic Emperor Mage Content warnings: violence, magic, slavery, death, The Realms of the Gods Content warnings: […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

