Review: The Realms of the Gods

Posted: 20/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

The Realms of the Gods
The Realms of the Gods by Tamora Pierce

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Death; violence; slight graphic explanations of injuries, blood, and gore

As the last book in the Immortals quartet this book resolved some things, answered a few other things (most of which I had questions about from reading Tortall and Other Lands: A Collection of Tales), and generally was a good book.

Plenty of action. Descriptions of the realms of the gods. We meet Daine’s father and get to see Daine’s mother and not just through her memory of her. And of course there’s feelings.

As of the end of book 2, I was on the fence about Rikash the Stormwing. Book 3, I was more amenable to him. This book destroyed me because of him. Because I had somewhat of an attachment to him.

I’m so glad that things worked out the way they did in this series. I mean I knew Daine would live. As would her mentor/teacher. Or at least had a good feeling they would live thanks to the above mentioned and linked book. I just didn’t know how or what shape they’d be in.

Overall, as a stand alone book it’s decent. But as the end of the quartet (especially from reading the prior quartet and trilogy as well beforehand) it was REALLY good. Had I read just this quartet without the 7 books before I’d have lots of questions and be all kinds of confused. And I’m kind of glad I read these in the order that I did (especially as I’m more or less reading them in the order of what belongs where in the universe according to the author). I highly recommend this quartet (even if you don’t read the Song of the Lioness quartet or the Beka Cooper trilogy though I think you’re kind of wrong for not reading them and reading this).

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] warnings: violence, magic Emperor Mage Content warnings: violence, magic, slavery, death, The Realms of the Gods Content warnings: violence, magic, death, slight graphic explanations of injuries, blood, and […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

