Review: Looking for Alaska

Posted: 22/05/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Looking for Alaska
Looking for Alaska by John Green

My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Manic Pixie Dream girl, alcohol use/abuse, drug mention, cigarette smoking, death, mentions of suicide

I don’t know what was worse. This book or Paper Towns. But they’re both really bad imo.

I can’t properly express my hatred of books without chapters. I mark my progress with them. It’s hard to mark progress with “x hours before” or “x hours after” when I don’t know how many of them they are and they’re on random parts of pages in some instances. It’s easier for me to go “ok I’m going to read up until the end of this chapter and then put it down and go do stuff”. But this was almost as bad for me as just reading a huge block of text with no paragraphs in between (even though this did have paragraphs).

In between that and the whole “I have a girlfriend kind of and I made out with Alaska while she was drunk even though she has a boyfriend who she constantly reminds us all that she loves but she’s totally the only one for me and now she’s deeeaaaddddd! And I’m the only one who really knew her” made me want to bash my head in.

Just please stop. I’ve read waaaayyyy too many stories with that kind of premise “I have a girlfriend but I’m totally in love with x even though she has a boyfriend who she tells me she loves and x is the only one for me”. It’s overdone. It’s in enough books already it doesn’t need to be in more. My hatred for John Green and his writing deepens.

If you like John Green, by all means read this book and you’ll probably like it. If you don’t, you should probably steer clear of it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] some of this reads like John Green’s Looking For Alaska. But in the sense of someone died, left journals behind, and now partner is trying to figure out […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

