Review: The Goddess Test

Posted: 06/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Goddess Test
The Goddess Test by Aimee Carter

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: death

Before I start this review I need to clarify something. I see “mythology” as religion. Because it is in fact, religion. Typically it’s a religion that isn’t widely practised any more and potentially not practised at all. The term mythology also tends to be used for just about any religious practice that is not a branch of Christianity. IF YOU HAVE A PROBLEM WITH ME USING THE PHRASE RELIGION/RELIGIOUS PRACTICE IN PLACE OF MYTHOLOGY DO NOT READ ANY OF MY REVIEWS FOR THIS SERIES.

Now that that is said, I love reading about modern day adaptations of religious stories.

The Hades-Persephone story is one of my favourites and I like reading different interpretations. From the purity stories to ones like this.

I like the idea that Hades and Persephone weren’t a great match for each other. And that he released her from her duties so that she could spend her eternity with the person she loved who loved her back.

I enjoyed this story quite a bit. I didn’t care for some of the Gods/Goddesses but that goes without saying in general if you know me. A lot of the Greek religious stories bother me (particular most of them involving Zeus/Hera but I’ll talk about that in a different review).

I enjoyed the fact that Henry and Kate actually got to know each other. Granted it was AFTER she promised to give him 6 months of her life every year for eternity. But getting to know a partner in a story makes it a lot more believable when there’s romance involved. Because usually (and this happened more or less with this though Henry was a lot standoffish and it didn’t show til a lot later) you can see the characters actually falling for each other. You’re not just told “oh yeah they’re totally into each other believe it” when the text is saying they’re not. This is one of the things that I mean when I say show me don’t tell me.

I understand why Henry is so standoffish. Especially after reading the trilogy and all the short stories that go with it. But while it was going on it seemed a little….off to me. Ok a lot off to me. Especially with his hot and cold moods. It really bothered me. But I’m glad it was elaborated on eventually and explained.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] series(Aimée Carter) Content warnings for the series: religious ideology, heterosexual romance The Goddess Test Content warnings: death, religious ideology Goddess Interrupted Content warnings: destruction, […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

