Review: Blow

Posted: 09/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Blow
Blow by 50 Cent

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Death, murder, drug use, alcohol use, n-word slur

So I’ve never lived in the streets. Never grown up with that kind of lifestyle. And yet the idea of someone being a snitch is deplorable to me. Particularly to someone who you’re good friends with. So the guys who did snitch on their crew I find to be deplorable types of people. I’d rather be friends with an honest drug dealer/gang member than one who’s going to turn on me and everyone else the minute something goes wrong. And not only that but add on lies of stuff that didn’t happen just to try and make themselves sound better.

This may be because of my past history with people backstabbing me that I thought were friends. Maybe it’s just my sense of honour. But whatever it is, it is what it is.

I enjoyed reading this book. Cringed every time someone used the n-word (regardless of the person’s race). Still don’t get the allure of excessive useage of drugs or alcohol. Actually don’t get the allure of the useage of drugs period but whatever works for you I guess.

I’m gracious of the fact that books like this exist that I can read so I can see in an outsider way of what it’s like for certain sects of society to live. Also, I get to travel to New York while in my pjs and never having to leave my bed. Which is an added bonus.

All in all this was a very good book and I enjoyed it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

