Review: Hoodlum

Posted: 12/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Hoodlum
Hoodlum by K’wan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Murder, lots and lots of violence, slurs (ranging all over for slurs for black people, Italian people, and Mexican people), police brutality, drug use, alcohol use,

This was….an interesting book. I was into it but not quite like the rest of his books I’ve read.

The slurs thrown between everyone towards everyone really put me off. To the point of cringing every time I read one. But I’m not going to be the one to police the language K’wan chooses to use in his works. They have their place and though I might not agree with the usage of them ever, some of them he has every right to reclaim and use.

As for the story, I kind of wish Shai had been able to keep that promise to his sister. I feel really bad for her because of the fact that she basically lost her entire family.

Also, I’ve said it before in other reviews, I’ll say it again, I have no patience or love for people who rat out their friends/family. I understand what could push someone to do it but I don’t agree with it.

While this book felt familiar (in that it was the streets of New York in with the drug trade) it also felt different. I can’t put my finger on why exactly but the book felt like it gave off a different vibe than the other books I’ve read by K’wan. Wasn’t bad different but just different. They say to write what you know, and if this is what K’wan knows then by all means it’s what he should write. I still enjoyed it despite the different feel to it. And I’d recommend anyone who has enjoyed his other works to read this.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

