Review: How the García Girls Lost Their Accents

Posted: 16/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

How the García Girls Lost Their Accents
How the García Girls Lost Their Accents by Julia Alvarez

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Implied attempt at sexual interaction with a minor

This was a little better than I was expecting. I enjoyed the fact that the book moved backwards through time. And I can completely understand the title. Especially as the Garcia girls are from the Dominican Republic initially and brought to the United States.

I can only imagine how scary it was to flee from the DR in the 1950s from the dictatorship of Rafael Trujillo. And I can only imagine how that impacted some of their childhood development growing up with the fear of him sending his police in to seize their dad.

I can both imagine and not imagine 4 sisters close in age being as close as they were in this day and age. I mean, it IS completely possible. But at the same time, it’s more unlikely to happen now than in the 50s. Mostly due to cultural views and all that.

This was an interesting look into a life that I’d otherwise never really get to experience second hand. And for that I really enjoyed that. I’m eventually (when I get through my current books out from the library that is) going to check out some more of the author’s works because I genuinely enjoy the style of writing the author has.

I’d definitely recommend this book to others who are interested or curious to any degree.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

