Review: Gutter: A Novel

Posted: 19/06/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Gutter: A Novel
Gutter: A Novel by K’wan

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Lots of violence, murder, blood and gore, attempted rape, drug use, alcohol use

One thing that always amuses me is when K’wan name drops his own books in his books. It’s not a bad thing by far. Just highly amusing to me. Probably because I can’t think of any other author who does that and it’s a unique thing.

This was a nice follow up to Gangsta. I like that in the end justice was served. And I still want to know what the hell is Cross? Other than an assassin.

Satin winding up in a mental institution was pretty expected by me but her coming out of being in her own mind was definitely surprising to me. Especially her being pregnant. I mean I had a feeling it would happen when I read Gangsta but no one noticing or doing a pregnancy test was slightly surprising but mostly unsurprising especially given the treatment that a lot of people get in mental institutions.

My heart definitely goes out to the pain of being a single mother and not having someone else to help raise your offspring even though I’ve never personally been in that position. I’ve seen others go through it. Multiple friends. Helped a lot of them through it too. Hard on the kids and the adults involved. And the foster care system is even worse. I’ve known people who’ve gone through it and I have nothing but sympathy for a lot of them.

Overall, a good book. Definitely read after Gangsta and not before.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

