Review: The Kite Runner

Posted: 09/07/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: paedophilia mention, rape, sexual assault, abuse

I don’t get it. I don’t get the huge love for this book.

I didn’t care for Amir. At all. It’s like the book’s trying to make me feel sorry for the poor spoiled rich baby. And I can’t do it. I’ve been in the position of being mistreated and abused by those with power and money. And I can’t feel sorry for those people ever. Even if/when they lose all their power and money.

His half-brother however, I could completely emphasise with him. And how he must have felt.

I didn’t enjoy this. I spent most of my reading of this going “I’m not going to give up because it’ll bother me later to have a DNF book”. Once I get to the point of having to mentally repeat that constantly, means that I’m not going to enjoy the rest of the book.

I mean it’s horrible some of the real life things that are mentioned as happening in this book that happened to Afghanistan and it’s people. Like the Russian invasion in the 70s. And the takeover by the Taliban. And how seemingly they’ve not been able to recover since.

But I could not really get into this book at all.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

