Review: The Stone Fey

Posted: 12/07/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Stone Fey
The Stone Fey by Robin McKinley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’m going to agree with some of the other reviewers of this book. In that I don’t like that it was made a picture book. It would have been fine just being a short story by itself.

Though I do have to say, the pictures were nice. And gave me a better idea of what the stone fey looked like (because honestly I was picturing it being like a thing out of Minecraft).

Normally, I’m very drawn to stories about fey. Because for some weird reason they enthrall me. This one was just kind of so-so. I mean yes, I fully believe that the fey was trying to lure her away forever and a day. I have no doubts about that. As to why that’s open to interpretation and my interpretation is definitely not child friendly and as such I won’t share it.

I could definitely see reading this to a child. Or a child reading it on their own. Like I said, the pictures were nice. And the story is nice and short. Not a whole lot of big words kids won’t understand without help (there’s maybe 5 in the whole story…MAYBE). The print’s not huge but it’s not small so it’s of a decent size for small readers.

Definitely recommend if you have a small child (or a child of any age really) that likes fantasy types of novels.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] warnings: stigma against mental illness, trading child for plants, violence Imaginary Lands The Stone Fey Content warnings: attempted kidnapping A Pool in the […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

