First Time First Time by Abigail Barnette
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of abuse, mentions of murder & death, mentions of BDSM, high sexual content, abusive parenting, mentions of menstruation

Disclaimer: I received an ARC from the author in exchange for a fair and (mostly) unbiased review.

I don’t know which was worse. Reading the bit about Penny’s parents from her side or Ian’s side. Either way, they’re utterly despicable people. And the fact people like them actually exist makes me angry. And sad for the kids who get born to them. I enjoyed this just as much the second time around of reading it. I really do honestly enjoy reading both sides of a story about people. But that also might be because I’m kind of nosy when it comes to books especially the fluffier ones. It also might be because I get attachments to characters and like to see how their partner perceives them and what their partner thinks as well.

I think the things I love the best about this book (and consequently the other side of the story book) is Ian never pressuring her and her never feeling pressured. And Ian wanting to share the good and bad of his life with her as well as her willingness to try to share it all despite her personal beliefs. Especially when it comes to religion. Religion is important to Ian and he asks her if she’ll join him at church one day so that he can share that with her. He explains that he never expects her to convert. Just that he wants to share it with her at some point but he won’t pressure her to do it.

The characters feel like actual real people. I mean despite the rich guy and not so rich girl thing. Because that’s the only thing that doesn’t really feel real but I know occasionally does happen. But everything else feels real. Straight down to their arguments. And their handling of said arguments like adults. Instead of being written as adults but arguments sound like a bunch of pre-teens arguing. It’s a fairly big pet peeve I have in books. And I love that Danny is shown as a person who happens to be a priest and isn’t the typical stuffy stick up his arse representation of a priest that we usually get in media. Most of my feelings have already been stated in Ian’s story so there’s not much more I can say. Read my review of Ian’s story here.

Buy it here: (Pre-order until August 4th, 2015)

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iBooks|Smashwords

Comments
  1. […] I’m going to really enjoy reading Penny’s side of the story. (Update: I did and you can read my review here) […]

    Like

  2. […] BDSM, high sexual content, abusive parenting, religion based slut shaming, mentions of menstruation First Time: Penny’s Story¬†Content warnings: mentions of abuse, mentions of murder & death, mentions of BDSM, high sexual […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

