Review: I Wish I Had a Red Dress

Posted: 18/07/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

I Wish I Had a Red Dress
I Wish I Had a Red Dress by Pearl Cleage

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Domestic violence, domestic abuse, abuse, threats of violence, mentions of rape and what constitutes rape

I THINK that’s all the content warnings. Despite them (or maybe because of those things) this was REALLY GOOD. And as it turns out I own the book that’s technically before this (which I just found out). But despite this being a duo I don’t think you need to read the first to really understand this one since everything is more or less explained in this book and you’re not feeling like you’re missing a lot.

This is a book about life and love. And reclaiming yourself for you. And empowering yourself. Or at least that’s what I got out of it. Also, supporting women in being their own person. Particularly supporting black women. Which is kind of touched on in the book but supporting black women is a thing that definitely should be done since the world is more or less against them including black men (which is the part that’s touched on briefly kind of).

Anyway though, I really enjoyed this book. Despite not being a black woman (which is the obvious intended audience for this book).

I really didn’t like Junior’s family but also I know you’re not necessarily suppose to like them. I like that basically everyone that’s mentioned in this book is black. It’s nice every now and then to not see my race represented in media because we’re so overrepresented.

Pearl Cleage has a very easy to follow writing style that flows very well. This was one of the rare books I’ve read lately that I’ve picked up and found very hard to put back down and not devour. It went really fast for me (when I wasn’t distracted by other duties and things I had to do).

I look forward to reading more books in the future by Pearl Cleage. Also, look at that cover! The aesthetics of the cover make me really happy. It truly is gorgeous.

You can read my review for What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day here

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] saying!”. And I really love that about her writing. Though this one started out slower than I Wish I Had A Red Dress it quickly picked up and I was lost in it’s […]

    Like

  2. […] religion based fear mongering, religious ideologies, drug use, alcohol use, child abuse/neglect I Wish I Had a Red Dress¬†Content warnings: Domestic violence, domestic abuse, abuse, threats of violence, mentions of rape […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

