Review: What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day

Posted: 19/07/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day
What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day by Pearl Cleage

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Paedophilia, stigmatization of STIs, misinformation about STIs, religion based fear mongering, religious ideologies, drug use, alcohol use, child abuse/neglect

This was a good book. I really enjoyed it. Well mostly enjoyed it. I have a particular hatred of people who hide behind their religion and act as holy warriors for it. And people who preach abstinence only education including misinformation about transmission of STIs and what they are.

It was nice to have this book focus on the sister with HIV. I’d love a third book about the sisters (and I mean that as in blood related sisters not the AAVE term it’s typically used as in her books).

I LOVE that her main character is a woman. And her secondary main character is a woman. And that the “main” male lead is more kind of there but not as focused importantly on. I mean he’s important but not in the domineering “I’m taking over the narrative from the women to focus on me” type of way that some authors tend to fall into (regardless of the author’s gender). And I love that the characters are multi dimensional (even some of the side characters though a lot don’t get to there until the second book). They feel like real people that I could meet.

I both like and dislike the idea of someone going from drinking a lot for coping to hardly drinking at all because they’ve found better things to do (exercise, eating better, helping with the women’s center thing her sister is organising, and falling in love). I KNOW it’s entirely plausible. I just feel like there should be some screw ups in there or mentions of how hard it is initially other than mentioning it once as a kind of “oh by the way” type mention. I know not everyone goes through it like that. And some people aren’t really addicted to alcohol when they use it for coping. But I do know it takes a bit to actually fall into a routine before you stop this bad habit and replace it with this good habit and it would have been nice to see a slight struggle with that.

Her writing is beautiful and kind of pulls you in and grabs a hold of you and goes “look! pay attention to what I’m saying!”. And I really love that about her writing. Though this one started out slower than I Wish I Had A Red Dress it quickly picked up and I was lost in it’s story.

Overall it was a pretty great book that I’d recommend to anyone.

And I like the cover of the book. It has a sort of playful type of aesthetic to me. Like a doodle you’d do while trying to take notes. Or to help you remember something.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] can read my review for What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day […]

    Like

  2. […] series(Pearl Cleage) Content warnings for the series: heterosexual romance, violence What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day Content warnings: Paedophilia, stigmatization of STIs, misinformation about STIs, religion based […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

