Review: A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories

Posted: 01/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories
A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories by Robin McKinley

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I adore short story collections. And this was no exception. I’m going to try and go through the stories one by one. Also, that cover. I don’t particularly like the colour yellow because I have a light sensitivity issue and yellow is usually too bright for me. But this cover is gorgeous.

Healer This was an excellent story about a girl who was born mute and eventually regains her voice. Luthe makes an appearance in this as it’s set in Damar. I like how she adapts to not having a voice. I like that she also learns to read/write as well for additional means of communication. And how excited she was at being able to communicate with someone.

The Stagman This was another story set in Damar. Luthe again makes an appearance. I really enjoyed the ending of it and how everything played out. Not much I can talk about this without spoiling it but I can say that the girl chose the decision I would have.

Touk’s House This was a fantastic re-working of the tale of rapunzel. Except it’s not exactly rapunzel. It starts out as such but definitely does not end as such. Also has a troll in it. The fantasy in this was great. And this was probably my favourite story.

Buttercups This was a pretty good story. It was highly enjoyable. As I’ve mentioned in other reviews, I’m not a big fan of older man/younger woman pairings but this was done in a very good way. Meaning it’s not creepy and she’s not using him or him using her. Well they do kind of but that’s what happens in relationships. One person has something the other person wants/needs (companionship, love, etc) and they do an equal trade (well in healthy relationships at least). But it’s not in a disproportionate way (like one person doing all the giving and the other doing all the taking. It was written very vividly though enough that you could actually imagine that you’re seeing all that happened.

A Knot in the Grain This was….interesting. It was a good story but it was almost a weird kind of interesting in itself. I like how it ended. The thing with the box confused me a little (until the end) but everything gets sorted and it’s pretty great. I like the fact that she called the car clunker because that was exactly what it was. And I could practically taste the corn with the description of it.

Overall, this was a good collection of short stories and I enjoyed them all. And would definitely recommend that y’all read it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] you outcast, mentions of violence, death, war The Blue Sword Content warnings: War, kidnapping A Knot in the Grain and Other Stories Content warnings: stigma against mental illness, trading child for plants, violence Imaginary […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

