Review: Half-Blood

Posted: 01/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Half-Blood
Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: talk of death, classism (that can also be inferred to racism), religion (in the form of Ancient Greek), girl on girl hate, slut shaming, violence

So I want to start with the disclaimer that I’ve never read the Vampire Academy series (though it’s on my to-read list) so whether or not this book/series is a rip-off of the series is not up for debate with me. I can’t say anything on the topic.

I enjoyed this. It was fluffy and deals with Ancient Greek religions (again, I refuse to call it mythology unless we’re going to call ALL religions mythology). Which is honestly one of my favourite things ever. Ancient religions put into newer times.

It did feel a little bit like Sherrilyn Kenyon’s Dark Hunter/Dream Hunter/Were-Hunter series. What with daimons and biting and turning people into daimons. And not really sucking blood but essence (which is the same thing in Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series). I don’t know if the author was just heavily influenced by other works or not but a quick google search tells me that both Richelle Mead and Sherrilyn Kenyon’s series were written before this book (2007 and 2002 respectively to the authors, this one was 2011).

Despite that it was still enjoyable. Also I enjoy the minimalist look of the cover. And what looks like a hibiscus on the cover (I could be wrong about the flower it wouldn’t surprise me). I’m a fan of artsy kinds of covers (if we couldn’t have guessed already). All in all, it was an enjoyable book despite the girl on girl hate (which could be boiled down to a classism or racism issue because I don’t recall any of them being given a specific skin colour though I might have skipped over that in favour of my own ideas as to what people look like).

The classism gives me uncomfortable feelings. The whole we’re pure and you’re not so you’re looked down on just…ugh. And the fact that the pure people can destroy a half-blood’s life….ugh. Forced servitude doesn’t do it for me. It’s not a thing I particularly like reading about.

I predicted one of the big plot points before it happened (and mentally cheered when I was right even though it’s kind of really heavily telegraphed and all you have to do is pay attention to the book titles). Though I don’t like that they treat her like she’s basically going to be property.

I’m going to go back to the classism thing because it really bothers me. Like the pures and half-bloods physically separate themselves from each other after an incident happens (well really the pures separate themselves from the half-bloods) and it’s really clear in one of the scenes in the cafeteria where it literally says that the pures are all grouped together as far away from the half-bloods as possible. If that isn’t a clear indication of segregation that the U.S. actively went through (and the fact that this book is set in North Carolina) then I don’t know what is. It just made me recall what I know of history versus what I was taught and leaves a really bad taste in my mouth.

Overall though it was a good book that if you like reading ancient religions set into modern world you will probably enjoy.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] of forced servitude, mentions of mind rape, heterosexual romance Daimon Content warning: death Half-Blood Content warnings: talk of death, classism (that can also be inferred to racism), religion (in the […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

