Review: Some Things I Never Thought I’d Do

Posted: 01/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Some Things I Never Thought I'd Do
Some Things I Never Thought I’d Do by Pearl Cleage

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of rape, mentions of murder, mentions of death, threats of violence, implied violence, mentions of drugs, alcohol usage, implied sex

This was honestly better than I was expecting. I mean I was expecting it to be good because she’s a good author but it exceeded my expectations (or maybe my expectations were lower than normal due to being badly disappointed in the past….regardless though).

I ADORE Nat King Cole. I need to put that out there. Because the author quotes from the song “The Very Thought of You” by Nat King Cole. So immediately upon recognising said song from the quoted lyrics I had to put on Nat King Cole on youtube as a playlist to read by. Which actually gives this book a REALLY GOOD atmosphere. So my advice? Put Nat King Cole on when and if you read this book.

I like that this had a good ending. It falls under my list of books that don’t bother me when they have a happy type ending. There were ups and downs and it was a good and fun read.

The only thing that bothers me really doesn’t have a lot to do with the book but more my own brain. When the ocean was mentioned/described, my mind conjured up enough of a visceral memory of the last time I went to the beach that now my skin feels like it has a layer of salt on it and I need to take a shower to get it off me. I’ve stopped smelling it finally but still feel like I have a layer of salt on my skin which is uncomfortable for me. And why I don’t like beaches. But I have to give it to the author, she described it pretty well.

And this book had me feeling emotional by the end. Like the crying type emotional. I hate feeling like that. But that’s a personal thing that’s neither here nor there. But on the other hand, it’s a good thing that the book could actually have me feeling something.

I can’t express how much I liked this book. Go out. Buy it. Borrow it. Read it. It’s good. Even if it is a bit fluffy at times. Doesn’t make it any less good. In fact, I feel it kind of enhances how good it is.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

