Review: The Spirit Ring

Posted: 01/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The Spirit Ring
The Spirit Ring by Lois McMaster Bujold

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: death, fictional magic, murder, religious ideology

Ok so initially, I went into this book knowing nothing about it. Other than it was recommended to me. I think I fell in love within the first 10 pages. just. wow.

There were a few slow spots but that’s understandable for ANY book to have. They didn’t take away from the rest of the book. We had a happily ever after type ending which fit well for this book. AND we had a woman of colour as the main character. That was great and exciting.

And everything I want to gush about would be spoiling the book which I’m determined not to do. But the way things played out was exciting and exhilarating and had she decided to write it any differently it wouldn’t have been as good.

I’m usually not huge on books that use religious ideology as heavily as this one does. Mostly because of my own experiences. Particularly with Christian type religions. But the way this book mixed the magic and religion was actually really good. It didn’t feel forced in nor did it feel like the literary equivalent of shoving it down your throat. But your mileage may vary on that so proceed at your own risk.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

