Review: Beyond 50: An Erotic Sampler

Posted: 04/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Beyond 50: An Erotic Sampler
Beyond 50: An Erotic Sampler by D.L. King

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I’d put content warnings but there’s a lot and I don’t want to go through chapter by chapter to get them all. So some basic generalised ones: sex, bondage, sadomasochism

I like that above every excerpt there is a note about what the story contains. So if something particularly bothered you you could skip it without having to read it.

I’m not going to go story by story (cause there’s over 50 and I don’t have the energy for that on a good day). I will say this was very enjoyable. And quite a few of the books that are excerpted in this are ones I’ve had my eye on and curious to see if they were good.

Some I was very pleasantly surprised because they were. Others were…meh. Some I had never heard of and was like “OOOHHHHH”. I skimmed the one about E.L. James because so much of it screamed bullshit to me (like her supposedly doing actual research and talking to members of the community). I also skipped Lee Harrington’s because I subscribe to his podcast and everything I actually read sounded exactly like one of his prior podcasts. Which isn’t bad. Just repetitive and I’m not big on repetition in books.

Overall this was a good compilation and I’d recommend anyone new to the erotica genre (especially those who started with 50sog) to this to get a feel for things they like and starting points of where to find it.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Tell me stuff

