Review: Black Ice

Posted: 15/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Black Ice
Black Ice by Becca Fitzpatrick

My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: kidnapping, murder, attempted suicide, arson, death, violence, weapon usage (firearms), stockholm syndrome insinuation

Ugh. Where to start with this. Other than I am masochistic when reading. And even if I’ve not enjoyed a prior book/series an author has done (in this case the Hush, Hush series) I’ll still give them another chance and read another book by them. Most of the time and in this case, it’s usually a huge mistake to make.

This book was 100% predictable. Which, for me, most of the time, means I’m not going to enjoy it. I don’t like predictable media. I like being surprised. But if you’re the type of person who enjoys predictability in books you’ll probably enjoy this.

The only reason this gets 2 stars instead of 1 is because of the talk of murder and death and what the main character stumbles upon in the first cabin. Which I won’t spoil. But I did kind of cackle at.It made the opening prelude chapter thing make more sense (since initially it was kind of like WTF? until it was actually referenced).

I will say that I did enjoy the main character’s resourcefulness. Having taken wilderness survival courses and been in scouts most of my life, a lot of the things that she did were things that I might have wound up doing as well. Though her stupidity in a few things made me want to choke her. As did her seemingly stockholm syndrome symptoms. I’ve read enough books with it to pick it out of a book even when it’s faintly alluded to.

It could kind of be called a murder mystery type story. Since there is an unknown killer killing random people. But if you pay attention in reading it’s pretty obvious who it is.

If you like Becca Fitzpatrick’s work, then by all means read this book. If you’re ambivalent to it or don’t like it, DON’T read this book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

