Review: Instructions for a Broken Heart

Posted: 16/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Instructions for a Broken Heart
Instructions for a Broken Heart by Kim Culbertson

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This was a fun and fluffy book for me. And had a few hard truths that I have had to learn in my lifetime of experiences of friendships and relationships. Oh and showing how cruel girls can be to each other. It’s not necessarily girl on girl hate…or at least outright but the cruelty that girls show towards each other is definitely there. And it’s something I wish we could just let die. Stop showing it in books/movies/music/tv shows that we’re suppose to backstab each other and be horrible for no reason other than gender.

The bit about James Joyce’s Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man came off as a bit pretentious to me (and I say that without having ever read anything of Joyce’s yet but things can come off as pretentious without you needing the full context of them).

The ending felt like a bit of a cop out. Ending it with “A minute later, her phone rang.” as the last sentence. Too easy. I feel it would have ended fine at her sending the text message.

The part that really stood out to me though, was the part where her and her teacher are talking and she kisses him. Because that feeling is a feeling I’ve had before. Someone’s easy to talk to and you get so into the conversation that you feel so connected that a kiss feels inevitable so you do it. I’ve never had it with a teacher (at least not that fully but I have felt it a little bit towards a teacher well after I graduated high school). But with others, I’ve definitely had that feeling and have done so. Last time I did it, I got mono and learned my lesson.

But when this book is talking about the feeling of being numb when finding your partner kissing another person and all the feelings related to the breakup (and subsequent bad relationship you didn’t realise you were in) it feels real. Like ways I’ve felt from relationships. And it’s kind of a really sucky feeling. And the author captures that well.

Buy here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

