Review: The God of Small Things

Posted: 23/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

The God of Small Things
The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: implications of sex between siblings, racist microaggressions

I’m going to start this with a quote from Ana’s review because she said this a lot better than I ever could:

“The theme of injustice towards the most vulnerable members of society is sharp and visceral, as well as the theme of social displacement and of having your culture slowly leached from you.”

And am going to repeat something she’s mentioned about the book (only this will be my words not hers). I don’t feel like I was necessarily an intended audience for this book. Why I’m not sure. It could be a combination of race/nationality mixed in with culture and just it not being the kind of book I enjoy.

Basically the book in the first chapter kind of tells you what happened and then the rest of the story is told in a bunch of flashbacks (some of which feel out of place even though they aren’t) leading up to how what happened happened.

I’ve been putting off this review because it feels like there’s more racism and racism related stuff I didn’t catch. But not knowing enough about India’s caste system I’m not a good person to speak on behalf of it and it’s place in the story of the book (though if someone has a decent if not good link that isn’t wikipedia that they’d like to throw my way that I might not have caught when I was looking it up to try and understand it better I’ll gladly take it). I really did try to understand it but google wasn’t helping much for most of the week so I gave up after too many headaches.

Anyway though, knowing about the caste system is largely unimportant in the grand scheme of this book. That’s just my own thing about learning more about things that I never really had to learn about partly for the enjoyment of learning things I didn’t previously learn and partly because I’m just plain curious as hell.

The chapter with the implied sex between the siblings both fascinated and creeped me out.

Overall, this was a very well written book but me reading it wasn’t the intended audience (and I very strongly feel that way). I did like the seemingly magical element that was woven in and around the story. Which I find happens more with books that aren’t centered around North America and it tends to give the booka little extra enjoyment without taking anything away from the book.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

