Review: Step Beast

Posted: 27/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Step Beast
Step Beast by Selena Kitt
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: BDSM, sex, slut shaming, kidnapping, mentions of pregnancy and child being taken away from mother without consent, step sibling romance, mentions of a sex slavery ring, violence, death, suicide mention, alcohol use, drug use mention

I was given an ARC of this for a fair and unbiased review.

Well mostly unbiased. I can definitely say step sibling romance/sex is NOT MY THING. But if it’s yours, kudos to you. It’s not that I find it weird (well kind of but not for the reasons you think or I care to elaborate on) or wrong or fucked up or any other reason you may think. It’s just not my thing. I knew that going into this book and also knew what this book was going to be about partially (I knew it was going to be erotica/romance about step siblings). So I’m not going to complain about that. But I was willing to give it a fair try because I’ve been known to be surprised by things that aren’t my thing. This book is getting a lot of 5 star reviews on Amazon. And I can see why. But it didn’t do it for me. Personally if I could, I’d give this 2.5 stars. But I’m being generous and rounding up.

This book hits a few of my own personal pet peeves. 1)sex without condoms (especially in BDSM/kink clubs, where, in my experience that’s not allowed at all even in private rooms). 2)using cat o’ nine tails, flogger, and whip interchangeably (you can’t say you’re being hit with a cat and then call it a flogging two distinct things. And then call it a whipping. Which is a completely different thing from the others. They might all occasionally get made out of the same materials but they’re NOT the same and it seriously bothers me). 3) “Oh my gosh his penis is SO BIG!” *sighs* I’m just really tired of huge penis men in erotica. 4) “no we can’t but we’re going to anyway”. 5)non consent being “justified”.

Before I go further. Selena Kitt is a good writer. I’ll give her that. I have quite a few of her books and have enjoyed reading them. This book just didn’t hit all the “right” spots with me. And it’s hard for me to explain why.

Tilly’s mother is a huge fucking bitch. I HATE her. And am not very fond of her aunt for the comments she made. And I can’t fucking forgive her mother for the shit she did. I don’t care that it was in the name of “protecting” her. You don’t do that shit to your child. And as for her aunt you don’t say shit like that. It’s fucked up.

In the end we wind up with a happily ever after and everyone’s happy.

For Tilly’s introduction into the BDSM scene I have to say quite a bit of it was fairly accurate and good. I don’t necessarily agree with going from an over the knee spanking to an over the table spanking (actually that progression I don’t have the problem with it’s the next one I do) to being hit with a cat. That’s quite a leap for someone new. And changing Doms on the sub without their knowledge or consent. That bothered me too. Because you’re going to have different energy with different people. To the point that you actually can’t play with some people because you’re that incompatible.

I can’t really talk more about it without spoiling the entire book so I won’t.

All in all decent story. Good writing but just didn’t really do it for me.

Buy it here:

Amazon

Tell me stuff

