Review: Dating Dead Men

Posted: 31/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Dating Dead Men
Dating Dead Men by Harley Jane Kozak
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: violence, mentions of stigmatization of mentally ill people, mentions of animal abuse

This was definitely not what I was expecting of this book. I was expecting it to be a little more humourous with the title. But it wasn’t.

I enjoyed the bit of murder-mystery with the story. I didn’t enjoy the bitching about wanting to be a willkommen store (which since her store is named welcome, adding that on for anyone who speaks German will basically make her store name ‘Welcome Welcome’ and I find that as stupid as people who call chai ‘chai tea’ because you’re saying ‘tea tea’ but I can’t say us Americans are necessarily smart when it comes to words that didn’t originate here or words that have). The head dude of the store was an entitled asshole (“oh your store is in a not so good area of LA but we can’t have a store that ever has crime scene tape near it that would tarnish our reputation!”) that I wanted to shoot.

I came to adore Ruby and her selective mutism (for religious reasons). It was kind of nice to see things that don’t really get talked about get talked about. Like selective mutism (even though it’s not really entirely accurate it’s the closest hers comes because she gave up talking for Lent). And schizophrenia. Though I kind of felt that the schizophrenic person was a bit of a caricature of it I can’t really say they were or weren’t because I don’t have much experience with it and can’t judge. But some of the personality traits that didn’t feel caricature-ish felt like very real schizophrenia from what I’ve read in books from people with schizophrenia (which is my only reference point outside of reading the DSM-V).

One of the best friends of the main character kind of felt like a caricature of black women (but as I am definitely not a black woman I can’t really speak too much on it other than there may be some black women who act the way she does but it felt very caricature-ish and stereotypical and made me really uncomfortable). The other one and main character for that matter read as very stereotypical white book experience characters. Not a whole lot to them. But very obviously white.

It was a decent book that took me a while to get into. There was a lot of “I’m a man so I’ll take care of this and not tell you much and then get angry when you get in trouble and I have to rescue you because you expressly disobeyed my ‘don’t do this’ without any explanation as to why” that kind of pissed me off.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] I have to say this one was a bit more interesting than the one before it. And more […]

    Like

  2. […] Jane Kozak) Content warnings for the series: mental illness, violence, heterosexual romance Dating Dead Men Content warnings: violence, mentions of stigmatization of mentally ill people, mentions of animal […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

