Review: The Anti-Prom

Posted: 31/08/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

The Anti-Prom
The Anti-Prom by Abby McDonald
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: Alcohol mention/use, drug use/mention, mentions of sex, mentions of feeling pressured to have sex, stealing, breaking and entering, cigarette smoking

I liked the ending of this book a lot. The lesson of people who care are more important than people who only care about your looks was pretty great. And people aren’t what they seem.

I liked that the nerdy girl got herself someone who actually seemed to care that she had stuff in common with and figured out quickly that she wasn’t that into the guy who she previously thought she cared about.

I liked that the delinquent girl turned out to be not so bad after all (and that she didn’t have to have a complete makeover for that to happen).

I liked that the preppy girl realised how much her friends were total assholes and then didn’t fully stoop to their level in the end.

And the bit about healing from a home in which a parent has left and wants nothing to do with you.

I especially liked this bit of the book:
2015-08-30 23.16.15
[image description: Black background with white writing reads:
I gesture at the hair, the dress, the shiny, sexy costume that somehow caught his attention in a way that “just Meg” never did. Because the fact is, he’s looked right past me all year. Even in my old gown, I didn’t register – like I don’t exist unless I fit their weird category of hotness. I suppose that’s what they don’t tell you about makeovers in the movies – that maybe the people who gasp with grand double takes aren’t worth the effort. Because if I don’t deserve his attention when I’m myself, then what good is he?]

All in all this was a cute book that I’d gladly read again.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Tell me stuff

