Review: Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting

Posted: 04/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , ,

Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting
Knitting Yarns: Writers on Knitting by Ann Hood
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of deaths in some essays

This was a beautifully put together book of essays on knitting. Originally, I wanted to read this book because of a post that was going around on tumblr about an excerpt of Blood, Root, Knit, Purl by Andre Dubus III that was freaking out about an out of context excerpt (which in context isn’t that much better but…)

I’m not a knitter. Full disclosure. But I do enjoy reading books about people who do knit. And I enjoy being around people while they knit. It’s a soothing sound to hear them knit. Knitting in and of itself has always eluded me when I’ve tried to learn so I’ve given up for myself.

Reading about the journeys that brought people into knitting was wonderful to read about. I also enjoyed that not all of them were written by women. I didn’t enjoy that it was only 3 stories by men though.

Overall it was a pretty good book that I’d recommend to others to read.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|iBooks|Google Play

Tell me stuff

