Review: Captive

Posted: 07/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , ,

Captive
Captive by Aimee Carter
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mention of sex, death, violence, executions, blood, gore

So admittedly, the first book, interested me but didn’t get a whole lot of my attention. But that was because there was more talk than action and I like more action in my dystopian novels.

I’m still not liking that everyone who even gets a description mention is white (seriously POC exist! and I’d believe they would more likely be heading a rebellion rather than white people) and very able bodied (again disabled people exist and I’m sure most of them would be helping a rebellion rather than just not existing even in a place where they supposedly “exist” though given the state of things in Elsewhere they’re probably “organ donors”)

This series in regards to Elsewhere sounds like Eugenics 101. And that makes me very uncomfortable as a person with quite a few disabilities both mental and physical. For once, I’d like a dystopian author to actually think about and put POC and diabled people working together in a revolution. And stop pretending like we (disabled people) don’t exist (and that POC don’t exist). Or that we only exist to better the lives of the able bodied.

I REALLY despise Knox. He seemingly switches sides at will (even if it is orders). And I’m starting to despise the “real” Lila (though her current actions at the end of the book may have been coerced though how she was found in hiding…?).

I am looking forward to the third book to come out so I can finish the trilogy but that’s the only reason why. Like this isn’t a book that I spend hours thinking about so I can take or leave it.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] death, heterosexual romance Pawn Content warnings: death, murder, attempted sexual assault Captive Content warnings: mention of sex, death, violence, executions, blood, gore […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

