Review: Frostbite

Posted: 07/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Frostbite
Frostbite by Richelle Mead
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: death, violence, alcohol use, mention of sex, girl on girl hate, mentions of cutting, mentions of depression

I can’t help but compare this series to the Covenant novels because I read them first. And oh my gosh is this series so much better. I mean yeah there’s still the occasional girl on girl hate and love triangle-y crap (which thankfully was resolved this book) but there’s more substance to these novels. They aren’t as exasperating as the aforementioned series.

I especially like how Richelle Mead has put in Rose dealing both with the death of someone she cared about AND about causing death in others. She doesn’t just pick herself up and act like everything’s fine and nothing happened. She actually deals with it in a very real way. And the conflict between her and her mother.

I completely called the bit with rich douchey guy and having some of the same connection that Lissa does. I have my thoughts about what he meant with what he’s told Rose about her but none of them fully formed enough to speculate.

Rose’s mother was completely uncalled for in her actions at the banquet that Rose attended with Lissa as her guest at her request. I have a lot of mixed feelings about Rose’s mum. Like I can see some of why she is the way she is. And I can understand it but the way she’s choosing to treat her daughter because of her decision’s instead of Rose’s decisions bother me a lot.

Rose is still rebellious and headstrong and runs into things without thinking and impulsive but she’s starting to be less impulsive and the character building on her is going really well.

Overall this was a great book that I enjoyed.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble

Comments
  1. […] their will, slut shaming, girl on girl hate The Meeting Content warnings: kidnapping, stalking Frostbite Content warnings: death, violence, alcohol use, mention of sex, girl on girl hate, mentions of […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

