Review: I Love Him, I Love Him Not

Posted: 14/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

I Love Him, I Love Him Not
I Love Him, I Love Him Not by Ella Martin
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: mentions of physical abuse, mentions of alcohol use

I received an ARC for a fair and unbiased review.

Oh. My. Gosh.

It’s been a while since I’ve read a book in one sitting. And not want to put the book down for breaks (because sometimes I need those when reading on computers/electronic devices).

So, this is a modern day adaptation of Sleeping Beauty. And we all know by now, I’m a sucker for modern day adaptations of stuff (shakespeare, older non western religions, fairy tales, etc). This was no exception.

Having not read the first book, I have to say that this was fairly easy to follow. This feels like a series in which you don’t have to read it in order for it to make any amount of sense. And I like that. I mean I like series you have to read in order for things to make sense as well, but having series’ that I can tell people “hey go ahead and read this out of order and it will still make sense” is a great feeling.

A lot of the plot for me was very predictable but that comes partly with age and partly with just reading a lot of books in the romance-y YA genre. But that didn’t make this any less enjoyable. What really made it enjoyable for me was how real and authentic the characters felt. Despite me never going to a prep school or having to deal with richer people or anything, the characters being in a prep school and presumably a bit more well off than what I’m accustomed to (particularly given the area that is mentioned) never bothered me. Because it wasn’t shoved in my face (metaphorically) as I was reading. And that’s a huge complaint I have with quite a few books. It’s ok to have rich characters but it annoys me when they flaunt their money every few pages/chapters.

Being a So Cal native, I can definitely relate to the book making mention of the weather. And that was a great thing to be able to relate to.

One of the things I absolutely loved was that there was no unnecessary girl on girl hate or girls backstabbing other girls. I mean I know that does happen (I fell victim to it quite a lot) but it’s like a breath of fresh air to read a story set in a high school that DOESN’T have that in it.

Another thing I loved about this book, basically all the main characters are their own people with their own personalities. They have their own things going for them and don’t necessarily seem like they would be the best team of friends but they are. It’s another thing I’m a sucker for. Fully fleshed out characters with their own back stories who make a good team.

I would definitely say go read this book. I found it to be fantastic even if a little predictable which again, is not necessarily a bad thing.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Smashwords

Comments
  1. […] This one really excites me because I adore her writing (even though I’ve only read the one book so far). I’d like to extend a huge thank you to her for taking the time to answer my […]

    Like

  2. […] Martin) Content warnings for the series: abuse Will the Real Prince Charming Please Stand Up I Love Him, I Love Him Not Content warnings: mentions of physical abuse, mentions of alcohol […]

    Like

Tell me stuff

