Review: Hostage

Posted: 22/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Hostage
Hostage by Cheryl Headford
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Content warnings: violence, attempted murder, kidnapping, gay pairing, use of magical abilities, abuse

I received a free copy of this for a fair and honest review from NetGalley.

So originally I was going to give this 4 stars. But I bumped it down to 3 since I can’t do 3.5 here.

I don’t care much for Rowan especially initially. I get the pain that manifests into hatred for something that someone else’s family caused. I truly do. But I’ve never understood taking that pain and hatred out on someone who wasn’t involved and by chance is related to the person(s) responsible for it. Rowan acts like a spoiled entitled brat until the second day that they allow Astrin to wake up from the medically induced coma thing. I mean even then his thought process is still spoiled entitled brat for a good portion of the book. And that’s bothersome to me. And the reason I can’t give this 4 stars.

The very good news though is that there was a lot of growth for Rowan in the book where he stops being a spoiled entitled brat to actually growing up and learning. So that was good.

I liked the slow getting his memory back in spurts thing with Astrin (of course I don’t think it should have ever come to taking his memory and locking it away but..).

I was a bit exasperated with the “I have these strange feelings when x,y,z happen(s) and I’m going to ignore them because they scare me”. Because it happened over and over and over and over. With both characters.

You can definitely see that the author liked both characters it does show in the writing. But there’s also a lot of room to grow for the author.

It was a good book though that was enjoyable.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Harmony Ink

Tell me stuff

