Review: The Secret of Mermaid Cove

Posted: 22/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

The Secret of Mermaid Cove
The Secret of Mermaid Cove by Megan Derr
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Content warnings: implied slut shaming, lesbians, implied sex

I received an ARC of this book from NetGalley for a fair and honest review.

I can’t properly express how much I liked this book. It was short yes. But oh so good. Lesbians and mermaids who are lesbians. AND fae lore. That resembles The Little Mermaid that I remember (well parts of it like the sea foam part and not being able to talk). OH! And an entire place that practically communicates in sign language so they CAN communicate with the mermaids!

The only real criticisms I have is that the mermaids were the default pale and skinny. I like my mermaids to be all different colours and bigger because the ocean’s cold. They need the fat/blubber to help keep them warm. Skinny mermaids have never made sense to me because of that. So that bothers me.

The other thing that bothers me was the main character wasn’t told initially that her betrothed expected her to exchange places with his mermaid lover and it didn’t come out until the mermaid’s older sister was injured. That should have come up when they were talking about the family curse and stuff. Well not that he expected her to. But that he would ask her if she’d consider it.

All in all though (and those issues are why it’s not getting a 5 star rating) this was a highly enjoyable short story that I really enjoyed. And would recommend.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Smashwords|Less Than Three Press

Tell me stuff

