Review: Carefully Everywhere Descending

Posted: 26/09/2015 in book reviews, books
Tags: , , , ,

Carefully Everywhere Descending
Carefully Everywhere Descending by L.B. Bedford
My rating: 2 of 5 stars

Content warnings: lesbian relationships, violence, threats of violence

I received a free copy of this for a fair and honest review from NetGalley.

I REALLY wanted to like this book. But I can’t. I DO love that they show a very accepting town of people of other sexualities other than straight. That is a thing that was done well. But everything else?

Audrey starts out with her head well on her shoulders. She has plans for herself, wants to go to college, and tries to help out her family. All great things.

But.

Being reminded every chapter through telling rather than showing (I mean there was a little showing but not much) that her family is so poor really killed it for me.

And the other characters? Most of them are fairly one dimensional. Why are all the boys/men so aggressive? Seriously. Even her “friend” Mitch we first see being all aggressive because he finds out his best friend has been sleeping with his wife. Which, yeah, dick move but that doesn’t mean you need to brawl in the middle of an establishment.

And then the ending bit. That was kind of out of nowhere. I mean at least there was some brains used on her part but I just don’t have the words to explain it.

Even Audrey’s best friend feels like a cardboard cut out character. And it’s seriously bothersome to me.

This is one of those few books that I don’t really want to recommend.

Oh gosh. And even the title references E.E. Cummings. I mean Audrey is stumped by an assignment at school regarding E.E. Cummings and the title is literally a line from this poem.

Buy it here:

Amazon|Barnes & Noble|Harmony Ink Press|Dreamspinner Press

Tell me stuff

